Skip to content

Aarhus – European Capital of Culture 2017

Aarhus has been appointed European Capital of Culture in 2017

The title European Capital of Culture (ECOC) represents one of the most prestigious and prominent cultural events in Europe. Back in 1996, Copenhagen was the first Danish city to host the European Capital of Culture. Every year two EU countries are appointed as host countries for the European Capital of Culture. In 2017 Aarhus, Denmark and Paphos, Cyprus have been nominated as ECOC.

During 2017 Aarhus will celebrate traditions and culture whether that being Art, Theatre, Dance, Music, Literature and artisanal practices such as Gastronomy, Architecture and Design. Throughout the year they will try to touch as many aspects of Danish culture as possible everything from our past as Vikings till contemporary architecture.

Let’s Rethink, is the theme for Aarhus as being European Capital of Culture 2017.

“Our theme Let's Rethink indicates that Aarhus 2017 wish to transform the Central Denmark Region to a cultural laboratory, where alternative solutions can grow.”

If you want to read more about Aarhus as European Capital of Culture 2017 and be updated on special events during the year. Have a look at their web page here:

roede orm
Red Serpent
Photo credit: Montgomery

Embassy of Denmark

Rua Castilho 14.C.3
1279-077 Lisboa
Phone:     (+351) 21 351 2960

Fax:        (+351) 21 355 4615

Public opening hours Monday to Friday: 10.00 – 13.00.